ImpClassPro - Classical pieces, intermezzi improvised
Kalman Olah – piano & Csaba Klenyan – clarinet

Csaba Klenyán is a supreme interpreter of contemporary music on his instrument, as a clarinet soloist, but also as a member of the most ambitious small and chamber ensembles, and as a founding member of UMZE. A winner of international competitions, he has been a recipient of the Soros scholarship, the ARTISJUS prize for performing contemporary pieces, and the prestigious Liszt-prize.

Pianist Kálmán Oláh is the most accomplished player to emerge among the younger Hungarian generations. His elegance and complex approach as a soloist, a trio member and as an ensemble player is only surpassed by his talents in composition, a fact recognised by the jurors of the BMI-sponsored Thelonius Monk competition, which he won in 2006. He’s composed and arranged pieces for the latest release of the Budapest Jazz Orchestra big band, earning 4 stars in downbeat.

Klenyán and Oláh, having played together in a number of classical and jazz settings, have recently been able to develop a new approach to improvisation. Interpreting cherished pieces by Bach, Bartók, Honegger, Kodály or Rachmaninov they add introductory or linking parts, but those are fully improvised. Nevertheless the starting point, or the finishing one, is in direct musical contact with the piece or movement just heard, or with the one it is meant to introduce. It may be a motive, the key, a note, a rhythm pattern. Sometimes they take solo turns, then again they approach the next classical piece together, both of them maintaining their musical identity, while showing full respect to the pieces they interpret from the classical repertoire.

Kálmán Oláh - piano
Csaba Klenyán - clarinet, bass clarinet

back to Bands page »